• A new ERC Proof of Concept Grant has been awarded to Prof. Paolo Samorì. Read more.






  • Former group member Dr. Chiara Musumeci has been listed as a finalist for the 2015 Reaxys PhD Prize. Read More.
  • Thomas Mosciatti has been awarded the "Young Scientist Award" from the European Materials Research Society (E-MRS) in recognition of an outstanding contribution to the E-MRS 2015 Spring Meeting, Symposium Y, "Science and technology of two-dimensional materials". 
  • Dr. Artur Ciesielski wins the 2015 "Outstanding Pole in France" contest in the "Young Pole" category. Read more.
  • Dr. Marco Gobbi has been awarded the Best Experimental Thesis Prize by GEFES, Group Specialized on Solid State Physics of the Spanish Royal Physical Society. Read more.


  • Prof. Paolo Samorì has been elected member of the Academia Europaea.
  • Prof. Paolo Samorì has been elected fellow of the European Academy of Sciences (EURASC).
  • Thomas Mosciatti received the best poster award at the "10th International Conference on Organic Electronics" (ICOE 2014) in Modena, June 2014.


  • Dr. Emanuele Orgiu receives the MIT TR35 France award, which recognises the 10 most outstanding young innovators under the age of 35 in France. Read more here and here.
  • Prof. Paolo Samorì is part of the large international consortium that is awarded the EU Emerging Technology Flagship for "Graphene". Read more here.


  • Sébastien Haar received the best poster award at the "6th International Meeting on Molecular Electronics" in Grenoble, December 2012.
  • Prof. Paolo Samorì receives the Silver Medal of CNRS 2012.


  • Prof. Paolo Samorì has been elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC).
  • Dr. Artur Ciesielski received the best poster award at the "Bio- and Nanomaterials" conference, held in Poznan (Poland).
  • Dr. Artur Ciesielski has been awarded with the Prix Jean Kepler from the Fondation Saint Thomas for his PhD thesis entitled "Supramolecular nanochemistry: from self-assembly to responsive architectures". Read more.


  • Paolo Samorì is awarded with the ERC Starting Grant for his project entitled "SUPRAFUNCTION: Supramolecular materials for organic electronics: unravelling the architecture vs. function relationship".
  • Paolo Samorì was elected as Junior Member of the "Institut Universitaire de France" (IUF) for the period 2010–2015.
  • Paolo Samorì received the "Guy Ourisson" prize 2010 in recognition of the quality of his research.


  • Paolo Samorì received the "Nicolò Copernico" award 2009 for his discoveries in the field of nanotechnology, 16 May 2009.


  • Giovanna De Luca received the best poster award at the "8° Congresso Nazionale di Chimica Supramolecolare" which was held in Trieste (Italy) on 19–22 September 2007.
  • Jeffrey Mativetsky received the best poster award at the ECME2007 conference (Metz, France), 8 September 2007.


  • Vincenzo Palermo received the Societe Italiana Scienze Microscopiche (S.I.S.M.) award 2006 section materials science.
  • Giuseppina Pace received the Best Poster Award at the TNT 2006 conference that was held in Grenoble, 4–8 September 2006.
  • Paolo Samorì received the "Vincenzo Caglioti" Award 2006 Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei (Italy).
  • Matteo Palma received the Young Scientist Award at European Materials Research Society (E-MRS'06) that was held in Strasbourg, 28 May – 2 June 2006.
  • Desiree Gentilini received the Lido di Ostia 2006 prize for her highest quality Laurea thesis.


  • Laura Sardone received the Young Scientist Award at the European Materials Research Society (E-MRS'04) that was held in Strasbourg, 24–28 May 2004.
  • Matteo Palma received the Best Poster Award at the 2nd National Conference of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology that was held in Bologna, 25–27 February 2004.


  • Vincenzo Palermo received the Young Scientist Award at the European Materials Research Society (E-MRS'03) that was held in Strasbourg, May 2003.





  • Paolo Samorì received the Young Scientist Award: E-MRS'98 Spring Meeting (Strasbourg, France, June 1998).



2 June 2020

Dr. Cataldo Valentini (PhD at Cardiff University, UK) joins the group as a postdoctoral researcher. Welcome, Cataldo!

1 June 2020

The GRAPHEME project starts!

20 May 2020

Chang-Bo Huang receives his PhD after successfully defending his thesis. Congratulations, Dr. Huang!

1 May 2020

The PROSPECT project starts!

1 April 2020

The Graphene Core 3 project starts!


Latest Publications

Y. Wang, S. M. Gali, A. Slassi, D. Beljonne, P. Samorì, "Collective dipole-dominated doping of monolayer MoS2: orientation and magnitude control via the supramolecular approach", Adv. Funct. Mater., 2020, in press.

L. Hou, T. Leydecker, X. Zhang, W. Rekab, M. Herder, C. Cendra, S. Hecht, I. McCulloch, A. Salleo, E. Orgiu, P. Samorì, "Engineering optically switchable transistors with improved performance by controlling interactions of diarylethenes in polymer matrices", J. Am. Chem. Soc., 2020, in press.

O. Fenwick, E. Coutiño-Gonzalez, F. Richard, S. Bonacchi, W. Baekelant, D. de Vos, M. B. J. Roeffaers, J. Hofkens, P. Samorì, "X‐Ray‐Induced Growth Dynamics of Luminescent Silver Clusters in Zeolites", Small, 2020, in press.

V. Parkula, M. Berto, C. Diacci, B. Patrahau, M. Di Lauro, A. Kovtun, A. Liscio, M. Sensi, P. Samorì, P. Greco, C. Bortolotti, F. Biscarini, "Harnessing selectivity and sensitivity in electronic biosensing: a novel lab-on-chip multigate organic transistor", Anal. Chem., 2020, in press.

Z. Liu, H. Qiu, C. Wang, Z. Chen, B. Zyska, A. Narita, A. Ciesielski, S. Hecht, L. Chi, K. Müllen, P. Samorì, "Photomodulation of Charge Transport in All‐Semiconducting 2D–1D van der Waals Heterostructures with Suppressed Persistent Photoconductivity Effect", Adv. Mater., 2020, in press. Link to accepted manuscript (open access). Featured in Hot Topic: Carbon, Graphite, and Graphene.